Diabetes Research Center

UCSD/UCLA/Cedars-Sinai/Salk Supported by NIDDK

Contact

Please remember to cite the DRC Grant in all papers that utilize DRC Cores or are supported by the Pilot and Feasibility Awards:

"Our research utilized Core (or Research) support from the UCSD/UCLA NIDDK Diabetes Research Center P30 DK063491."

Listserv for DRC Members

Send announcements, communications, requests, etc., to your DRC colleagues!


DRC-L@UCSD.EDU

If you would like to subscribe, please send an email to smatranga@ucsd.edu. This is a moderated listserv, so messages will be prescreened such that only relevant and important messages will reach you.

 

Contact information for DRC Cores and Programs

DRC PI/Director:
Alan Saltiel, PhD
858-534-5953
asaltiel@ucsd.edu

Program Administrator:
Sandi Matranga
858-534-6236
smatranga@ucsd.edu

Pilot & Feasibility Program
Peter Tontonoz, MD, PhD

310-206-4546
ptontonoz@mednet.ucla.edu

 


Transgenic and Knockout Mouse Core:
http://cancer.ucsd.edu/tgm/
Pamela Mellon, PhD
Core Director

Core Contacts:
Transgenic and CRISPR Mice Contact
858-822-3270
juzhao@ucsd.edu

Gene Targeting (Embryonic Stem Cells and Blastocyst Injection) Contact
858-534-3178
ekothari@ucsd.edu

Embryo and Sperm Cryopreservation
858-822-3270
juzhao@ucsd.edu

 

Metabolic and Molecular Physiology Core:

Andrea Hevener, PhD
Core Director

Contact Information:

Mouse Phenotyping - Andrea Hevener, Core Director,  UCLA, 310-267-5884

Email ahevener@mednet.ucla.edu

Mitochondrial Function Analyses - Karen Reue, UCLA, 310-794-5631

Email reuek@ucla.edu

Mitochondrial Dynamics Analyses - Orian Shirihai and Linsey Stiles, UCLA

Email lstiles@mednet.ucla.edu

Luminex Analyses - Peter Tontonoz and Jason Kim, UCLA, 310-206-4622
Email jasonkim@mednet.ucla.edu

Lipidomics - Oswald Quehenberger, UCSD, 858-534-8902

Email oquehenberger@ucsd.edu


Genomics and Epigenetics Core

Chris Glass, PhD
Core Director
Kristen Jepsen, PhD
Core Co-Director
IGM Genomics Center
Nicholas Webster, PhD
Core Co-Director
VA/VMRF Microarray & NGS Core

Core Contacts: IGM Core Services

IGM Core
Study Design
Sample QC
Covaris Shearing
Infinium Genotyping
Infinium Methylation
Sequencing Library Preparation
Illumina Sequencing
PacBio RS II SMRT Sequencing
Tala Khosroheidari
858-822-4231
mkhosroheidari@ucsd.edu

 

VA/VMRF Microarray and NGS Core: Website
Affymetrix Arrays
Illumina Beadships

Agilent Microarrays

454 Sequencing
Jorge Valencia
858-552-8585 x7100
genechip@vapop.ucsd.edu


Human Genetics CORE:
Jerome Rotter, MD
Core Director
Leslie Raffel, MD
Core Co-Director
Xiuqing Guo, PhD
Core Co-Director
Kent D. Taylor, PhD
Core Co-Director

Core Contact:
Kaye Roll, RN
Core Contact
310-423-6976
kathryn.roll@cshs.org

 

Targeted Pathway Analysis:
Julian Whitelegge, PhD
Core Director
Oswald Quehenberger, PhD
Co-Director
Core Contacts:

Sub-Core A: Proteomics
Julian Whitelegge, PhD
310-794-5156
jpw@chem.ucla.edu
http://massspec.chem.ucla.edu

 

Sub-Core B: Lipidomics
Oswald Quehenberger, Ph.D.
858-534-8902
oquehenberger@ucsd.edu
http://www.ucsd-lipidmaps.org/home


The Novel Target Discovery and Assay Development Core:

Julian Whitelegge PhD

Core Director

Peter Tontonoz MD, PhD

Co-Director

http://massspec.chem.ucla.edu

Core Contacts:

Discovery proteomics and other mass spectrometry:

Julian Whitelegge

310-794-5156

jpw@chem.ucla.edu

ELISA Development:

Rima Boyadjian

310-206-4622

rboyadjian@mednet.ucla.edu